More photos of Mamie ….

Papa & Mamie
papa mamie boat
Mamie chair
Mamie Nick Juanita
These are photos of my maternal grandparents, Charles (Papa) & Mirza (Mamie) LaBiche. The last one is Mamie with her brother Nick Trist and her sister Juanita Valadie.

I’ve chosen these photos to share because all of these people are no longer with us, so I can’t get their permission!

See more cookbook photos, a list of all of the recipes or order the Cafe Sassone cookbook at http://www.CafeSassone.com

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “More photos of Mamie ….”

  1. Sandra Valadie Brandemihl Says:

    Enjoyed the pictures of Aunt Mirza and my grandmother Juanita (Gonnie).

  2. Ray Broussard Says:

    Yea, she did all that, but I think her first love was gardening. She could grow anything. She really was a great cook too. No one served a better holiday feast.

  3. cafesassone Says:

    She sure lived every minute to the fullest. I didn’t even mention her needlework skills. She taught me embroidery, and I tried to get her to teach me to crochet, but she couldn’t help herself and finished the whole afghan while I was at LSU, before I could get home for the semester break. She sewed the curtains in my room, and I think probably most of the curtains in her house. I remember the first reversible wraparound skirt I supposedly made, while she was teaching me to sew. I think it was a little ambitious for a first project and she did most of it. When I started sewing and before I had my own sewing machine, I would go over to her house to use hers. I have it today. I also “inherited” her collection of taken-apart mens’ ties that she planned on making a crazy quilt out of, and she entrusted me to do it, her collection of partially finished lace pieces, some of her fabrics, some of her beads and sequins, some of her decoupage supplies. Oh, I’d probably be surprised myself if I looked around for all that I have of hers.

    Which reminds me, she did oil paintings, and she did portraits of me and of my sister which I guess were in Mama’s house and went with Katrina. Mama was able to save one little painting of hers, I think of violets. She tried to teach me to draw, but I wasn’t very good.

    She once owned a decoupage shop in New Orleans called Cloud Nine. She sold it after she realized that she couldn’t do as many things as she wished she could while sitting in the shop. We could go and pick out anything we wanted and make our own decoupage items.

    She made beaded and sequined Christmas ornaments for everybody in the family. On Christmas at her house, she would have a big box of them, and we each took turns picking one until there were none left. We each would get at least 3 or 4, sometimes 6 or 7.

    I’m probably still forgetting some of her projects.

  4. Dorie Perry Says:

    The comments about your Mamie were exactly as I had thought after looking at her pictures. Her zest for life showed in her pics.

    I loved looking at them.

  5. cafesassone Says:

    Not only did she bowl and play golf until an advanced age, she square danced and round danced (and made her own square dance dresses — she had a whole walk-in closet full of the colorful dresses and ruffled petticoats), actively gardened her yard, walked all over when she could no longer drive, cooked wonderful meals, dyed her own hair (and eyebrows — a sight I always found sort of comical), and avoided going to the doctor if at all possible. Not only did she “forget” that she was supposedly allergic to chocolate, she forgot that she had broken her hip and would walk off and forget her walker. She was walking just fine without it, so it was quietly put away. She died while I was at camp with my Brownie troop. She would have loved going to Girl Scout camp! I planned for the family to get together to celebrate her 100th birthday, and we had her favorite cake, a lemon/chocolate Doberge.

  6. Ray Broussard Says:

    Mamie took me bowling and golfing and inspired me to paint and cook. When I finished remedial and regular math at UNO, she liked to brag to me about how much she liked and how well she did in calculus. I was very intimidated by the subject, but I figured if my old grandma could do it so could I and I managed to go all the way with the math and earned that B.Sc.

    I was hospitalized for a spell as a teenager and Mamie wrote to me nearly every single day. She spent her last year or so in a nice convalescent home in the French Quarter and to this day I consider it my greatest accomplishment in life that I was blessed with the opportunity to visit her about five days a week the entire time she was there. She always claimed to be allergic to chocolate, but she enjoyed a lot of chocolate that last year. I miss her so.

Leave a Reply

